Army names top print, broadcast specialists

By U.S. Army Europe Public Affairs
March 14, 2011

HEIDELBERG, Germany -- The Department of the Army recognized public affairs specialists and print and broadcast journalists for excellence in their career field during the Army-wide 2010 Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware Public Affairs Competition.

The competition salutes excellence among Soldiers and civilian employees who produce broadcast programming, print articles, photographs, graphic art and Web-based products to inform and entertain the Army audience.

Winners in the European footprint include:


Radio Entertainment Program                                
1st Place: SSG Christopher Meadows, "Moose in the Morning," AFN-Benelux

Radio News Report
3rd Place: SSG Michael Cox, "NATO Missile Defense," AFN-Benelux

Radio Feature Report
2nd Place: SGT Derick Call, "173rd Memorial," AFN-Bavaria
3rd Place: Jesse Granger, "Best Warrior Update," U.S. Army Europe Public Affairs Office

Radio Sports Report
2nd Place: SPC Jason Anderson, "Vicenza Cougar Scrimmage," AFN-Vicenza

Television Information Program      
3rd Place: "Good Friday: A story of heroism in Afghanistan," USAREUR PAO

Television News Report
3rd Place: SGT Joe Labutka, "Run to Remember," AFN-Heidelberg

Television Newsbreak
3rd Place: SGT Derick Call, "Desination BMW," AFN-Bavaria

Command Information Campaign   
2nd Place: "Grafenwoehr Training Area 100th Anniversary," 7th Army Joint Multinational Training Command PAO, USAREUR

Deployed Television News Report 
Honorable Mention: SPC Naomi Martini, "Soldiers Deliver Mobility," 1st Armored Division PAO, USAREUR

John T. Anderson Military Broadcast Journalist of the Year  
SGT Joe Labutka, AFN-Heidelberg

Civilian Broadcast Journalist of the Year  
Jesse Granger, USAREUR PAO


Individual Achievement
3rd Place: Michael Beaton, 7th Army JMTC PAO, USAREUR

3rd Place: "Roman Dig Project," USAG Wiesbaden PAO, IMCOM-E

Special Event
3rd Place: "ESPN Veteran's Day SportsCenter, 7th Army JMTC PAO, USAREUR


Outstanding Initiative in New Media
1st Place: 1st Armored Division PAO, USAREUR
3rd Place: "Baden-Wuerttemberg Now," USAG Baden-Wuerttemberg PAO, IMCOM-E

Command Blog
1st Place: USAG Baden-Wuerttemberg PAO, Video Blog, IMCOM-E

2nd Place: John Wutzer, "Mastering the Matterhorn," USAG Wiesbaden PAO, IMCOM-E
3rd Place: PFC Nathan Goodall, "Bayonet Soldiers train at home," USAG Baumholder PAO, IMCOM-E

The annual contest is named for Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware, a World War II Medal of Honor recipient and former Army Chief of Information who was killed in action in Vietnam.