Army names top print, broadcast specialists

By U.S. Army Europe Public Affairs
March 15, 2011

HEIDELBERG, Germany -- The Department of the Army recognized public affairs specialists and print and broadcast journalists for excellence in their career field during the Army wide 2010 Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware Public Affairs Competition.

The competition salutes excellence among Soldiers and civilian employees who produce broadcast programming, print articles, photographs, graphic art and Web-based products to inform and entertain the Army audience.

The Secretary of the Army sponsors the program and the DA Public Affairs Office conducts the competition each year in order to foster and cultivate excellence among public affairs professionals.

"This is an important professional development opportunity for our Soldiers and civilian employees," said Col. Bryan Hilferty, U.S. Army Europe's public affairs chief. "It gives them a chance to check their work against the best in the Army."

The winners represent several major commands across the U.S. Army in Europe area of responsibility, including U.S. Army Europe, American Forces Network Europe and Installation Management Command-Europe.

Army in Europe Winners include:


Radio Entertainment Program  
1st Place: SSG Christopher Meadows, “Moose in the Morning,” AFN-Benelux

Radio News Report
3rd Place: SSG Michael Cox, "NATO Missile Defense" AFN-Benelux

Radio Feature Report
2nd Place: SGT Derick Call, "173rd Memorial" AFN-Bavaria
3rd Place: Jesse Granger, “Best Warrior Update” U.S. Army Europe Public Affairs Office

Radio Sports Report  
2nd Place: SPC Jason Anderson, "Vicenza Cougar Scrimmage" AFN-Vicenza

Television Information Program
3rd Place: "Good Friday: A story of heroism in Afghanistan" USAREUR PAO

Television News Report
3rd Place: SGT Joe Labutka, "Run to Remember" AFN-Heidelberg

Television Newsbreak 
3rd Place: SGT Derick Call "Destination BMW" AFN-Bavaria

Command Information Campaign
2nd Place: "Grafenwoehr Training Area 100th Anniversary" 7th Army Joint Multinational Training Command PAO, USAREUR

John T. Anderson Military Broadcast Journalist of the Year
SGT Joe Labutka, AFN-Heidelberg

Civilian Broadcast Journalist of the Year
Jesse Granger, USAREUR PAO

Deployed Television News Report
Honorable Mention: SPC Naomi Martini, “Soldiers Deliver Mobility” 1st Armored Division PAO, USAREUR


Individual Achievement
3rd Place: Michael Beaton, 7th Army JMTC, USAREUR

3rd Place: “Roman Dig Project,” U.S. Army Garrison Wiesbaden PAO, Installation Management Command-Europe

Special Event
3rd Place: “ESPN Veteran’s Day SportsCenter,” 7th Army JMTC PAO, USAREUR


Outstanding Initiative in New Media
1st Place: 1st Armored Division PAO, USAREUR
3rd Place: “Baden-Württemberg Now” USAG Baden-Württemberg PAO, IMCOM-E

Command Blog
1st Place: USAG Baden-Württemberg PAO Video Blog, IMCOM-E

2nd Place: John Wutzer, "Mastering the Matterhorn" USAG Wiesbaden PAO, IMCOM-E
3rd Place: PFC Nathan Goodall, "Bayonet Soldiers train at home" USAG Baumholder PAO, IMCOM-E

Each of the competition entrants not only had to compete at their Army Service and Component Commands, but also won first place in their respective categories before moving forward to the Army-wide level competition.  

"I'm very proud of those Soldiers and civilian employees," said Hilferty. "It's quite an accomplishment."

The DA first-place winners will continue to compete in the Department of Defense Thomas Jefferson Competition, conducted by the Defense Information School in April.

The annual contest is named for Maj. Gen. Keith L. Ware, a World War II Medal of Honor recipient and former Army Chief of Information who was killed in action in Vietnam.